The British Olympic Association has today named the men’s and women’s hockey squads who will compete for Team GB at the Rio 2016 Olympic Games. 
Beeston’s David Ames, Adam Dixon, Mark Gleghorne & Harry Martin have all been selected for the men’s Olympic hockey squad.
Former Beeston ladies players, Shona McCallin and Hollie Webb have been selected to play in the women’s squad with Eleanor Watton a reserve for the squad.
Former Beeston men’s players, Michael Hoare, George Pinner and Sam Ward have also been selected and join their former teammates on the plane to Rio.
We wish all the current and former Beeston players a successful trip and we hope they return with an Olympic medal.
The selected athletes are:
Women’s Squad

Giselle Ansley
Sophie Bray
Crista Cullen
Alex Danson
Maddie Hinch
Hannah Macleod
Shona McCallin
Lily Owsley
Sam Quek
Helen Richardson-Walsh
Kate Richardson-Walsh
Susannah Townsend
Georgie Twigg
Laura Unsworth
Hollie Webb
Nicola White

Joanna Leigh
Eleanor Watton
Kirsty Mackay
Men’s Squad

David Ames
Alastair Brogdon
Nicholas Catlin
David Condon
Adam Dixon
Daniel Fox
Mark Gleghorne
Michael Hoare
Ashley Jackson
Iain Lewers
Harry Martin
Barry Middleton
George Pinner
Ian Sloan
Samuel Ward
William Weir
Simon Mantell
Dan Shingles
James Bailey