Article from
As one of the most anticipated team sports at this year’s School Games, hockey will see a handful of its best young athletes show off their skills at Loughborough University as they compete for medals from September 1-4.
Teams from Wales, England, Scotland and Ulster will feature at the tournament.
England Blue’s Catherine Ledesma, who currently plays at Wimbledon Hockey Club in the National Conference East League, has already made international appearances for the England U16 team and hopes to compete at U18 level at next year’s EuroHockey. Thanks to her experience, the England Blue’s team will look to 17-year old Ledesma to carry them to School Games glory.
Gareth Griffiths, another member of England Blue’s squad, will head into this year’s competition as one of the most touted and experienced stars in the sport. Having already secured a Hockey Association Cup with his club Beeston and scored twice for England U16 against Scotland the 17-year old star will look to replicate those successes in Loughborough and take the appropriate steps towards his dream of representing Great Britain at the senior level.
Standing in the way of Griffiths will be Jack Valentine, who will be suiting up for the equally-talented England White. Valentine, who after falling in love with the sport since taking it up at the age of 11, has since developed into one of England’s best junior players. In 2015, he represented England U16 at the Six Nations Championships in Breda, Netherlands.
Sarah Glenn from England Red is another England U16 star who will be looking to transfer her international experience onto the School Games stage, while the Ulster team featuring some very talented players will be fighting it out to try and earn a place on the podium.
To show your support and be part of the action, order your 2016 School Games tickets here:
Discounted friends and family tickets are available by simply typing in the booking code 2016SGF&F when prompted.
A full squad list can be seen below.
England Blue (Boys)
Callum Addison
Joe Belshaw
Alex Emsden
Gareth Griffiths
Luke Hudson
Dylan Lim Hon
Owen Mclaughlin
Matt Mitcham
Joshua Morgans
Nick Park
Fraser Smellie
James Sookias
Charlie Sorton
Jordan Thompson
Tom Thorne
Matt Upchurch
England Red (Boys)
Zaman Akhter
James Farmery
Finlay Geelan
Imre Gerrits
Jamie Greenwood
Jagdeep Hanspal
Ronan Harvey-Kelly
Fredrick Heijbroek
James Hockley
Alex Hubbard
Lekan Ogunlana
Michael Parham
Nick Reddy
William Warner
Toryn Whitehead
Owen Williamson
England White (Boys)
Henry Baugniet
Tomek Bruml
Tom Burton
Ben Dell
Jack Ewins
Ted Heywood
Thomas Hill
James Holt
Tom House
Hamish Roberts
Tomos Roblin
Cameron Ryall
Nathaniel Sanderson
Matthew Simonds
Harry Talks
Jack Valentine
England Blue (Girls)
Freya Bennett
Alice Blades
Phoebe Buddstone
Katie Gleeson
Scarlet Goldsack
Sasha Green
Catherine Ledesma
Aisling Madden
Saffron Martineau
Bethan Moncur
Charlotte Oswald
Maddie Pearce
Lauren Roberts
Sophie Tait
Lucy Walton
Freya Wilks
England Red (Girls)
Emma Bickley
Hannah Bond
Mia Borley
Ciara Branagan
Molly Brealey
Freya Bull
Holly Dean
Bethan Ellis
Thalia Felton
Mia Foster
Paige Gillott
Sarah Glenn
Alice Hopgood
Alana Mercer
Lucy Robinson
Pip Stewart
England White (Girls)
Jemima Board
Rosie Campion
Laura Cashin
Ella Dowling
Ellie Harrison
Sophie Holliday
Tor Hughes
Katie Knight
Becky Loonan
Alice Melvin
Abi Rawlins
Kymran Shergill
Lara Tegner
Becky Williams
Alex Worrallo
Helena Youmans
Scotland (Boys)
Kyle Bannerman
Fraser Calder
Duncan Gladwin
Cameron Golden
Jack Jamieson
Owen Jenkins-Garcia
Andrew Lochrin
Ewan Mackie
Fraser Moran
David Nairn
Ben Pearson
Barry Platt
Alasdair Richmond
Timon van Rensburg
Sam Weissen
Kyle Wright
Scotland (Girls)
Rachel Bain
Maddie Cleat
Emily Cross
Emily Dark
Lucy Findlay
Mairi Fletcher
Rhona Gowans
Kayleigh Justice
Katie MacCallum
Hanna McKie
Olivia McMahon
Milly Merry
Lucy Nickerson
Lexi Sabatelli
Katie Stott
Ellie Wilson
Ulster (Boys)
Cole Chambers
Matthew Crookshanks
Jack Haycock
Jacob Hermon
Michael Kerr
Joshua McCabe
Matt Milliken
Harry Morris
Andrew O’Hare
Michael Patterson
Spencer Pinion
David Rae
Joel Reid
Tom Robson
Alexander Tinney
Ben Wallace
Ulster (Girls)
Rachel Barnes
Alex Burns
Alana Doyle
Amy Edwards
Gemma Ferguson
Rosie Henderson
Hannah Irwin
Jane Kilpatrick
Sophie McDowell
Katie McKee
Emily McStea
Jenny Morrow
Lauren Mulholland
Anna Nawn
Holly Taggart
Lauren Wright
Wales (Boys)
Connor Beardmore
Aled Bennett
David Bond
Rhys Bradshaw
Harry Copp
William Faragher
Jonny Fleck
Miles Margetson
Jolyon Morgan
Edward Morgan
Rhys Payne
George Rice
William Riley
Thomas Jet Treasure-Jeffreys
Ollie Wheeler
Michael Wood
Wales (Girls)
Alice Bennett
Sara Davies
Bethan Doughty
Lauren Dunn
Gaby Goodman
Izzie Howells
Caroline Hulme
Charlotte Hulme
Rhian Lewis
Katie Mulroy
Cerys Preston
Lowri Ratti
Carys Rawson
Sarah-Jayne Thorburn
Carys Waters
Beth Wood